The Second Chindit Expedition: Order of Battle Maeep Singh Bajwa "The Chindits"
14 Infantry Brigade (Brig. T. Brodie)
2 The Black Watch (R.H.R)
2 York a Lancaer Regiment
7 Leiceershire Regiment
1 Bedfordshire a Hertfordshire Regiment


16 Infantry Brigade (Brig. B.E. Fergusson)
2 Queen's Royal Regiment
2 Leiceershire Regiment
45 Reconnaissance Regiment
51/69 Field Regiment Royal Artillery


23 Infantry Brigade (Brig. L.E.C. Perowne)
1 Essex Regiment
2 Duke of Wellington‘s Regiment
4 Border Regiment
60 Field Regiment Royal Artillery


77 Infantry (Indian) Brigade (Brig. J.M. Calvert)
1 Lancashire Fusilers
1 Straffordshire Regiment
1 King‘s Regiment
3/6 Gurkha Rifles
3/9 Gurkha Rifles


111 Infantry (Indian) Brigade (Brig. W.D.A. Lentaigne)
1 Cameronians
2 King‘s Own Royal Regiment
3/4 Gurkha Rifles


3 West African Brigade (Brig. A.H. Gilmore)
6 Nigeria Regiment
7 Nigeria Regiment
12 Nigeria Regiment

Each Brigade was allocated one company of British, Indian, or West African Engineers, plus Medical, Burma Rifles, and R.A.F detachments.


Northern Combat Area Command (Brig.-General F. Merrill)
5307 Composite Unit (Provisional) "Merrill‘s Marauders"
1 Battalion - Red and White combat teams
2 Battalion - Blue and Green combat teams
3 Battalion - Orange and Khaki combat teams

Previously known as code name "Galahad". These were the first US troops committed to the Asian mainland. The "Marauders" consisted of 3 battalions. Each battalion was split into two combat teams.

Back to Main

All content © 2003 Ravi Rikhye. Reproduction in any form prohibited without express permission.