Dynasties: Rajputs - The Rathores of Marwar




The Rajputs claim descent from an 8th Century king.


The Rajputs who till the 10th century were mostly local feudal lords holding the status of revenue collectors for their Gurjara-Pratihara overlords, asserted themselves as independent rulers, after the Ghaznavid storm had blown over, and took over the earlier kingdoms of the Gurjara-Pratiharas. The main Rajput kingdoms in the 11th and 12th centuries were that of the Cahamanas (Chouhans) in East Punjab, Northern Rajasthan and Delhi. The Gahadwalas (Rathores) ruled the Ganges valley today's UP. [http://www.hindubooks.org/sudheer_birodkar/hinduhistory/landrajput.html]



By tenth century the Kshatriyas or warriors of northern India, who were descendents of post-Gupta rulers, took up a name for themselves, Rajputs, sons of Kings (derived from Sanskrit word Rajputra). These warriors depending upon lineage, divided into various clans. Each clan had a distinct lineage and kingdom. These Rajput rulers often fought among themselves to assert the supremacy, but none could build an empire. Instead, the northern, central and western parts of India were divided among many of these rulers into kingdoms of various sizes. This was the major factor that prompted the Islamic invaders to pour in India, mainly from Afghanistan and central Asia, as there was no central authority left to challenge them. [http://www.med.unc.edu/~nupam/kshatr1.html]


Subsequent to the sack of Kannuaj by Muhammad Gazhnavi in 1018, resulting in the destruction of this once powerful kingdom, Kannuaj split into several kingdoms, ruled by Rajput kings

Origin of the Rathore Family: The Rathores (Gahadvalas) of Banaras and Kannauj

Quoted from http://www.med.unc.edu/~nupam/kshatr1.html

Chandradeva, who belonged to Rathore clan of Rajput warriors, established the Gahadavala dynasty. It was during rule of Govind Chandra Rathor, grandson of Chandradeva, this dynasty reached it's pinnacle of power. Govind Chandra occupied most of the Gangetic valley consisting of modern Bihar and Uttar pradesh states. He had his capital at Banaras and it was a prosperous kingdom.

At this juncture a rival empire was established at the western boundry of Gahadavalas. This kingdom was by another clan of warrior Rajputs, Chauhans (Chahmanas). The grandson of Govind Chandra, Jai Chandra (Jai Chand) was the last Gahadavala ruler. According to legends, Jai Chandra’s daughter was abducted by King of Chauhan dynasty, Prithviraja, which added bitterness to long-standing rivalry.

When Mahmud of Ghor (or Ghur) invaded India, the Rathors and Chauhans, the two most prominent dynasties of northern India, could not put up a joint struggle against foreign invader. Ghori defeated both Prithviraja Chauhan and Jai Chandra Rathor separately and later killed them

A prince of the Kannauj kings founded the Rathore Dynasty of Marwar in 1226. In turn, he became the ancestor of founders of several Rajput states, big and small. In those days, possession was ten tenths of the law, and legitimacy was confirmed by killing the previous king and declaring yourself king in his place. If you and your descendents could hold on to the throne, well and good. If you or they could not, the next man who defeated you became king.




1090–1114 Chandradeva

1114-1154           Govindchandra

1154-1170 ??

1170–1194 Jaichand ---- Quarrels with Prithviraj Chauhan

1194-? Harishchandra




1226-1273 SHEOJI  founder of the State of Marwar in 1226, ancestor of the rulers of  Marwar, Jodhpur, and many other states.




13th Century


1273-1292 Doohad

14th Century


1309-1313 Raipal

1313-1323 Kanhapal

1323-1228 Jalansi

1328-1344 Chada

1334-1357 Tida

1357-1374 Kanhadev

1374-1383 Biram Dev

15th Century


1383-1424 Chanda


1427-1438 Ranmal

1438-1488 Jodha

1488-1491 Satal

16th Century


1491-1515 Shuja (also known as Surajmal)

1515-1532 Ganga

1532-1562 Maldev

1562-1581 Chandrasen


17th Century


1595-1619 Suraj Singh

1619-1638?? Gaj Singh I

1638-1678 Jashwant Singh I

1679-1724 Ajit Singh

18th Century


1724-1749 Abhai Singh

1749-1752 Bakht singh

1752-1772 Ram Singh

1793-1803 Bhim Singh

19th Century


1803-1843 Man Singh

1843-1873 Takht Singh